Retail NI was established in 2000 and is the only business organisation which represents the independent retail sector in Northern Ireland at every level of government. 

Our 1,800 strong membership includes wholesalers, independent retailers of all kinds, suppliers to our sector and affiliated chambers of commerce and local traders’ groups.

Glyn Roberts, Chief Executive of Retail NI with the Northern Ireland Finance Minister Conor Murphy

Retail NI stands up for, first and foremost, independent retailers and seeks to provide leadership and delivery of real change in key policy areas such planning, rate reform and high street  regeneration to the wider local retail sector in Northern Ireland.

Retail is the largest sector of our private sector economy and Retail NI is driving the debate on the future of our town centres and digital high streets and also as a key partner for growth in a new 21st century private sector-led Northern Ireland.



Glyn Roberts

Glyn Roberts has been Chief Executive of Retail NI from January 2008 after serving seven years as Head of Parliamentary Affairs with the Federation of Small Businesses in Northern Ireland.

Glyn was appointed as the new Chairman of Colleges NI in November 2014. Previously he was a member of the South Eastern Regional College Governing Body. He was also was Vice Chair of the NI Stronger In Europe campaign.

In December 2015, Glyn was appointed to the steering group of the 2016 Year of Food and Drink and as Chair of its Skills Group. He is also a member of the Strategic Advisory Forum on Apprenticeships.

He was also Vice-Chairman of the Northern Ireland Assembly and Business Trust (2011-12).

Previous positions held include Public Affairs Director with Weber Shandwick, Head of Communications for Cancer Focus NI and Manager of a Community Work Programme in West Belfast for the long-term unemployed.

Glyn holds a degree in Political Science from the University of Ulster and is a graduate of Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, Leaders for Tomorrow Programme (2008) and the US State Department International Leadership Programme (2007).